The last week..

21 05 2009

I’ve just been doing the readings for week 12.

I know the first reading, the ‘Day In The Life’ was written in 2006 and based on a 2005 study, but it seems rather obvious to me. I’m not sure if that’s how much the web has infiltrated our lives in the last 3 years, but none of the information presented in this report was really surprising.

Like the man who was the case study in this article, I also go immediately to the web for extra information on anything that interests me. Tickets for concerts that I’ve seen advertised, more information on news stories, information in a format that I appreciate. It just makes sense. Where I differ from this man, though, is that I could certainly go a week without internet (and intend to, starting this weekend!).

I found all the stuff about online advertising interesting, because although the research in the report shows that just seeing an ad online increases a customer’s chances of purchasing goods from the advertiser, I really don’t think that’s the case for me. I mean, maybe it is and I just don’t know it..

I tend to completely ignore online ads, so much so that I couldn’t even tell you what the last one I saw was for. I also have disdain for them, so I think that any company I see online might be lowered in my estimation. But am I just being naive? Have I actually received subliminal messages that have affected my purchases? I don’t know. But I don’t think so.

There are a couple of interesting articles about the effectiveness of online advertising at dynamic logic, and there’s an interesting Reuters article from last year regarding online advertising.

A few things from this week.

Firstly, a couple of blogs that are Australian and that I love – because they’re weird and geeky – Organic Defect and Clyde the Penguin. Both absolutely brilliant!

Also, I’ve updated the group project page with a couple of things that I’ve discovered you can do with WordPress, like the widgets and how to create a page that’s hidden in the navigation bar.

Also – I’m getting married on Saturday and today I feel like CRAP. Damn flu. But my fiance’s brother arrived last night with his wife, who is a nurse, and she’s assured me that I’ll be better by Saturday.

I’m going to go have a lie down now 🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

